Vegan Month is over!

Officially done with trial 1! While it was a good experience and I enjoyed the diet change I definitely don’t think I’m one who is meant to be vegan. I noticed that as the month went on I got less healthier with my choices because I’m fairly busy so I was continuing to get lazier. For instance, this past week I ate a lot ( and I mean A LOT) of bananas with peanut butter. Oops. Enjoyed every bite though haha Last week I also got chips and guacamole twice.

Here are my lists of pros and cons of being vegan-

Pros: ate way less processed food, tried some different recipes, ate more vegetables and fruit

Cons: if I didn’t have time to cook I grabbed unhealthy items, my food choices were repetitive (this is more my fault than anything), I learned fairly quickly that a lot of products have milk derivatives in it which was annoying

Now, to address my sleeping. As you know, I set out on this whole trial experience to figure out what would help me actually stay asleep at night and feel more rested during the day. Did being vegan help this? I did actually notice a difference. I more often slept through the night AND that afternoon slump that I was used to getting everyday I wasn’t getting which was AMAZING. Part of me thinks this has to do with just eating less processed food but it might have been because I cut out dairy and meat. Time will tell!

Measurements: I lost a half inch on my hips, inch on my waist, and half inch on my thigh! Wish I would have had more time to work out this month so that the difference could have been greater. Lost about 4.5 pounds as well.

So….what is my March trial? I’m counting Macros! #MacroMarch (so creative, I know). For those that don’t know what counting macros means, it means you track how many grams of protein, carbs, and fat you eat daily. If you go to IIFYM.com, you can use their calculator to figure out how many grams of each you should be eating to fit your diet/goals. I’m VERY excited for this flexible dieting approach.

P.S. First thing I did this morning was run (literally) down the stairs and make my coffee with dairy creamer. OH HOW I’VE MISSED YOU ❤

Leave a Reply

